Juice Robinson vs Kenny Omega – NJPW G1 Climax 27 Day 14

Juice Robinson vs Kenny Omega

G1 Climax Block B Match

08/05/2017

EDION Arena Osaka, Osaka, Japan

(reviewed 08/09/2017) I wish I had more to say about this match other than “the leg work and leg selling was good” but there just wasn’t a whole lot here for me. The poison rana was nice. The finish was very well done, as it looked like Juice was specifically shifting his body weight in order to tip Omega over into the victory roll. That was about it. I hate that a big part of this win’s meaning was mitigated by the fact that Juice won on the first B block night of the tournament, but I guess an unlikely win over a current main eventer is fine too, as opposed to his first win in general being against a current main eventer. I dunno, I think that sums up the match in general: good ideas but weird execution that makes it feel like less than what it actually is in the end.

Leave a Reply

