Michael Elgin vs Kenny Omega – NJPW G1 Climax 27 Day 8

Michael Elgin vs Kenny Omega

G1 Climax Block B Match

07/27/2017

Aore Nagaoka, Nagaoka, Japan

(reviewed 08/01/2017) I don’t know what it is, man. I couldn’t get into this match for the life of me. They were doing all sorts of cool shit (technical term) that I tend to like. Said cool shit was executed pretty well (little too much thigh slapping, but you’re never going to get away from that fully in this day and age, not in a promotion like this). But there was just nothing there for me. Maybe it’s the result of watching two real emotional matches before it (Thatcher/Makabe and Okada/Kojima), but there wasn’t anything in this match to hook me in. It was simply just big spots for the sake of big spots. Not that some of those big spots weren’t moving (most notably Omega’s Tiger Driver ‘98), but they were moving in the way that a competent, pensive shot of the sunset in a Transformers film might be moving compared to everything else around it. I don’t want to compare this match to Bay films, partially because I make that comparison too much but also because I don’t find it to be wholly accurate in this case, but in a similar way it was a whole lot of action on screen that left me empty and a little nauseated by the end.

Leave a Reply

