Tetsuya Naito vs Bad Luck Fale – NJPW G1 Climax 27 Day 5

Tetsuya Naito vs Bad Luck Fale

G1 Climax Block A Match

07/23/2017

Machida Gymnasium, Tokyo, Japan

(reviewed 07/23/2017) See, this is the problem with trying to write about most of the G1: there’s a lot of matches that are a real struggle to write about, even when they’re good. I went on a short Twitter rant about this match in relation to that idea because there’s just not a lot to say about this match. I guess I should note that it’s weird that Naito wasn’t more aggressive towards Fale due to the destruction of Daryl, but I sort of get it. Someone I like recently mentioned that LIJ are like your circle of friends on tumblr; you’re all sort of fucked up and have your individuals problems and struggles and you sort of rally together in celebration of mutual weirdness and isolation from others in order to cope with those problems and struggles. And I really like that comparison and I see some truth in it. When I think back to my time on tumblr, I can think of people for whom I’d have lashed out at a stranger for causing harm to them, in the way that Fale hurt Hiromu by destroying Daryl. But I don’t think I’d actually, like, hurt that person irl. I dunno. It’s weird. LIJ is tight, but it’s not “stab a bitch for calling your friend a ho” tight.

Leave a Reply

