EVIL vs Juice Robinson – NJPW G1 Climax 27 Day 4

EVIL vs Juice Robinson

G1 Climax 2017 Block B Match

07/22/2017

Korakuen Hall, Tokyo, Japan

(reviewed 07/23/2017) While it never quite clicked with me the way I’d like it to or the way I expected that it would, this was quite an enjoyable little match. These are two of the more technically consistent guys on the roster and could probably sleepwalk their way into a match that I found pleasing on a fundamental level. They don’t do that here, but I have to say that there’s something missing from this match. Still, lots to enjoy here, especially on the striking and selling fronts. This strikes me as the sort of match that would be great live, as A.) Korakuen is awesome, B.) Juice is great at playing to the crowd, and C.) the NJPW camera work leaves just enough stuff out to make me want a better angle on the action. Juice’s selling, especially, was brushed over by the producer or whoever just often enough to the point that it stood out to me as an issue. Still, this is a small issue, as is this series of reversals towards the end that I found to be a little much, and altogether they’re minor elements in what is an otherwise perfectly acceptable match.

Leave a Reply

